Students win advertising awards


Seven Arkansas Tech graphic design students received awards at this year’s annual American Advertising Federation (AAF) Little Rock ADDY Awards.

Every year the organization rewards its qualified active members with yearly scholarships. The annual ADDY Awards focus on excellence in advertisement.

The ceremony was held in February for projects submitted from the prior calendar year. This year’s winners from Tech were Alex Duvall, Peng Vang, Leng Vang, Tulsi Patel, Rebekah Cooley, Santana Foster and Nick Oates. Duvall, from Atkins, and Peng Vang, from Siloam Springs, both won gold awards. Patel, from Morrilton, and Leng Vang, from Siloam Springs, took home silver awards.

Duvall received a gold award for his layout design for a bread company.

“I was kind of surprised that it won gold,” Duvall said. “I finally felt recognized as a graphic designer.”

After graduating his work will be “submitted as professional work” said Lyn Brands, associate professor of art and a graphic design professor.

The student projects submitted were suggested by Brands and Jasmine Greer, an assistant professor of art. “They were really exceptional projects where the ideas, execution and presentation were good,” Brands said. “We thought they might be interested in seeing if they could win an ADDY.”

Entry costs for the ADDYs are $30 per project.

Patel won a silver award for her design layout for a paint set that included a paint roller, brushes and swatches. The design pictured a graphic image of a white swan outlined in colorful paint strokes. The swan was “very ugly” at first, said Patel.
“It took about ten tries, but Lyn told me not to give up, and it won silver,” Patel said.

Established in 1914, the AAF provides opportunities for professional development, networking and industry promotion in Central Arkansas. Each state has a chapter in the AAF. Members are professionals in marketing, but students are honored for their advertisement projects.

About Site Admin 48 Articles
This post was uploaded by the site admin, meaning it was most likely published prior to the migration to the new website for The Arka Tech.